Christine and the Queens: Birmingham next week [6 Sept]

Christine and the Queens will present his new album ‘PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE’ at a run of UK headline shows this September. 

Out now via Because Music on 3xLP, CD and digital formats, ‘PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE’ is written, performed and produced by Christine and the Queens, with co-production by Mike Dean (Lana Del Rey, Beyonce) and guest appearances from 070 Shake and Madonna.

A stunning 20-track record that is a departure not only thematically but also sonically from Chris’s prior albums and takes direct inspiration from Tony Kushner’s play, ‘Angels in America’. Chris embarks on a voyage of self-discovery, paving the way for a captivating and introspective musical experience.

Chris explains:

This new record is the second part of an operatic gesture that also encompassed 2022’s Redcar les adorables étoiles. Taking inspiration from the glorious dramaturgy of Tony Kushner’s iconic play, Angels in America, Redcar felt colourful and absurd like Prior sent to his insane dream-space. The follow-up PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE is a key towards heart-opening transformation, a prayer towards the self – the one that breathes through all the loves it is made of. Prior’s real agony in Angels in America is a deep, painful becoming, a shedding of all waters and memories, that then allows angels to immerse deep too, and offer back profound, narrative-altering love – a rest in true love.” 

The record’s first single, “To be honest“, was debuted by Clara Amfo on BBC Radio 1 as her Hottest Record In The World and is available to stream and download now. “To be honest” is an ethereal, synth-driven first glimpse into the French phenomenon’s most all-encompassing album to date.  It comes accompanied by a video directed by Chris shot on the English coast. Listen HERE

It was swiftly followed by “True love” featuring 070 Shake. A hauntingly beautiful plea to the angel of light to “take me higher”, “True Love” arrived with an official video directed by and starring Christine and the Queens, which showcases an emotive performance filmed in Los Angeles. Watch/listen here. The album also features the singles “A day in the water” and the hypnotic “Tears can be so soft”.

 ‘PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE‘ is out 9 June on Because Music. 

Full track listing is as follows:

01. Overture
02. Tears can be so soft
03. Marvin descending
04. A day in the water
05. Full Of Life
06. Angels crying in my bed (feat. Madonna)
07. Track 10
08. Overture (feat. Mike Dean)
09. He’s been shining for ever, your son
10. Flowery days
11. I met an angel (feat. Madonna)
12. True love (feat. 070 Shake)
13. Let me touch you once (feat. 070 Shake)
14. Aimer, puis vivre
15. Shine
16. We have to be friends
17. Lick the light out (feat. Madonna)
18. To be honest
19. I feel like an angel
20. Big eye

Christine and the Queens UK and European dates for the PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE tour 2023 are listed below.

The shows follow a headline performance at the BBC 6 Music Festival in Manchester earlier this year. The show was the premiere of the new live set up from the artist and included new songs lifted from the forthcoming record alongside a career spanning set of hits such as ‘Saint Claude’, ‘People i’ve been sad,’ ‘Tilted’ and songs from last year’s album Redcar les adorable étoiles (prologue).

Watch Christine and the Queens live at BBC 6 Music Festival

Christine and the Queens curated the legendary Meltdown Festival at London’s Southbank Centre between 9-18 June 2023, and gave two sold-out headline performances on both days of the finale weekend. He will also be headlining a number of festivals worldwide, including Coachella in California, Primavera in Barcelona and Madrid and headline slots at Roskilde in Denmark and Wilderness in the UK and more. 

Christine and the Queens presents PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE

European + UK tour 2023 dates

Wednesday 6 September – Symphony Hall, Birmingham, UK

Thursday 7 September – Academy, Manchester, UK

Friday 8 September – Usher Hall, Edinburgh, UK

Sunday 10 September – Olympia Theatre, Dublin, IRE

Tuesday 12 September – Cirque Royal, Brussels, BE

Wednesday 13 September – Unique Moments Landesmuseum, Zurich, CH

Thursday 14 September – Verti Music Hall, Berlin, DE

Saturday 16 September – Vega, Copenhagen, DK

Friday 17 November – Tivoli Ronda, Utrecht, NL

Monday 20 November – Le Radiant, Lyon, FR

Tuesday 21 November – Le Bikini, Toulouse, FR

Thursday 23 November – Le Silo, Marseille, FR

Saturday 25 November – L’Aeronef, Lille, FR

For full global live dates:



Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Discord