Lycio new track – Danger (out now)

Lycio’s electrifying track embodies the essence of temptation, enticing its listeners into a world of raw emotions and unspoken desires. Lycio builds a sonic tapestry of tantric energy, woven with dark and industrial synthscapes, creating a musical experience that is both provocative and exhilarating.

“Danger is about temptation, lust and sexual tension. It’s about getting that knot in your stomach for someone you know you shouldn’t be into. It’s about knowing the feeling is secretly reciprocated, but the bond will forever remain unspoken and forbidden.” – Genie Mendez

Lycio will release their debut EP, Inbetween, in a series of installments over the next 12 months. Danger is the first installment of the 5-track EP which will reach its conclusion in 2024. Inbetween will feature entirely new, unheard and unreleased music.

The band have previously performed as the headlining act for Sofar Sounds London, of which LOCK Magazine curated the lineup. Lycio have received significant support from BBC Introducing with presenters Alex Noble, Tim Senna and Andrew Marston all giving them radio play. Live highlights include a three track acoustic session for BBC Introducing West Midlands & a performance for Airwaves Festival (on BBC iPlayer during Lockdown) for BBC Introducing Hereford & Worcester. The associations with BBC Introducing continue as Lycio performed at The Big Feastival in 2019 and 2021, following slots at Chris Evans’ CarFest for BBC Children in Need in both 2017 and 2018, whilst their single ‘Evil People’ featured on BBC 6 Tom Robinson’s Fresh Favs in 2018. ‘Evil People’ premiered via fashion and culture magazine Blanc Mag. Lycio have performed at The Great Escape’s little sister, Alternative Escape 2019 as well as providing support for both Rae Morris and the Mercury Prize nominated Self Esteem.

All three band members are influenced by a variety of musicians, including the likes of Alt-J, Jack Garratt, Janelle Monae, London Grammar, Jungle, Bonobo, Grimes, Charli XCX, Haim, Tim Hecker, Fickle Friends, Imogen Heap, The XX and Chvrches. However, their own sound sits in closer comparison to the likes of Skunk Anansie, Skin, Santigold and Little Dragon.