The Chills in Birmingham at The Hare & Hounds on June 15th

NZ indie-rockers – THE CHILLS – have revealed that their legendary debut ‘Brave Words’ will be released as an expanded and remastered double LP on 13 October 2023 via Fire Records.

Remixed and remastered under the supervision of Martin Phillipps, this special release features a disc of rarities and unreleased tracks from The Chills vaults along with brand new, reimagined artwork by Martin. 

The release will see ‘Brave Words’ available for the first time in over 35 years and will be released alongside celebrated singles set ‘Kaleidoscope World’. 

As Martin explains:

“This is an exciting time for The Chills! A new deal with Fire Records means our full catalogue will be beach on streaming services again very soon. We’re also looking forward to the double LP reissue of ‘Kaleidoscope World’ (the one with the extra tracks!) on coloured vinyl. And finally we’ll be releasing our, not just remastered but also remixed, 1987 album ‘Brave Words’ with extra material!

Over the last few years we have worked with Fire on a number of new releases and reissues and it just feels right knowing our entire catalogue is now in the right hands.”

The cult New Zealand group’s catalogue is now back up on streaming services, with the new expanded reissues hitting the shelves in late 2023. Originally released in the mid-to-late ‘80s, these seminal releases will now finally see the light of day again — prime for a new generation of fans and for long-term supporters to snag on vinyl.

The albums feature some of The Chills’ most treasured hits including “Pink Frost”, “Rolling Moon”, “Night Of Chill Blue” and “Wet Blanket”. The reissues will also include never-before-heard bonus tracks and previously unseen photos, an essential for any die-hard fan of Martin Phillips’ output.

Long recognised as one of New Zealand’s most influential bands, ‘Brave Words; is a shining example of their unique sound and has been praised countlessly as a masterpiece by both critics and fans alike. 

The Chills will also be heading to the UK this June and will be joined by  Fire Records label-mates Rats on Rafts in GlasgowNewcastleNorwichBirminghamPortsmouth and Dublin.

The Dunedin, NZ songsmiths helmed by the enigmatic Martin Phillipps will be performing an array of their hits spanning the last four decades including “Pink Frost”, “Leather Jacket” and “Heavenly Pop Hit”. The special tour will unite these older classics from the band’s last forty years with some of their newer acclaimed albums ‘Scatterbrain’ and ‘Snowbound’. 

Making music that sees mature and honest reflection on life, destiny and the fate of our times delivered in beautiful melodies from one of the great modern songwriters, Phillipps’ trademark is pure pop music from the perspective of a man who understands his own mortality.

Dubbed as “the songwriter that helped kick off indie rock as we know it” by NPR and praised as a “living legend” by Rolling Stone, The Chills have also attracted critical acclaim from the likes of The GuardianPitchforkUncut, Classic RockRecord Collector and more. 

Now set to head back to the UK and Ireland’s shores, the band will be bringing one of the Netherland’s most progressive bands Rats on Rafts along with them. Performing tracks from their latest album ‘Excerpts From Chapter 3…’, the band have undergone a deft transition from punk-spiked-pop to psyche-pop protagonists.

With tickets on sale now here, find dates and details below. 



11 GLASGOW Mono*

12 NEWCASTLE The Cluny*

14 NORWICH Norwich Arts Centre*

15 BIRMINGHAM Hare & Hounds*

19 PORTSMOUTH Wedgewood Rooms*

22 DUBLIN Whelan’s 

*w/ Rats on Rafts

Tickets available now here.